School Committee candidate announces withdrawal from election

MM5 Digital Marketing, helping businesses grow! Call or Text Desiree 614-264-7393

By Max

Matthew Wise has announced the withdrawal of his candidacy for a seat on the School Committee.

Wise, a member of the Falls School PTO and current president, made his announcement on Saturday, Feb. 13. He had pulled nomination papers and offered his thanks those who signed. A longtime resident of North Attleborough, Wise said that he is committed to the town.

I would like to continue working directly with the PTO and its members,” ” wrote Wise in a statement. “This also allows me the opportunity to engage more directly with my children and their education.”

This year’s Town Election, set for April 6, will see a number of positions on the ballot, including the entire Town Council and three seats on the School Committee. According to information provided by the Election Commission, Joseph Flaherty and Katelyn Castonguay have pulled papers for the School Committee.

The deadline for submitting nomination papers is Feb. 16, at 5 p.m. with 25 signatures that need to be certified before a candidacy can be confirmed.

March 4 is the final day to file a withdrawal or objection for nomination for a town office. March 17 is the final day to register to vote in the election. April 5 is the deadline to apply for an absentee ballot.

Town Councilors Michael Lennox and Keith Lapointe have already announced that they will not seek re-election. The other seven members have all pulled nomination papers. In addition, Dan Donovan, Andrea Slobogan, Bruce Pearson, John Donohue, Kenneth Nasif, Mark Gould, and Robert McCoy Jr. have also pulled papers.

Other positions that will be on the ballot include:

  • Two on the Board of Electric Commissioners
  • Two on the Board of Public Works
  • One 1-year unexpired term on Board of Public Works
  • Two on the Park Commission