Special Election will focus on new Town Council positions


Special Election focusing on new Town Council positions

By Max Bowen


Following the passage of the new Town Charter, a Special Election has been set for June to determine the makeup of a new Town Council.

Comprised of nine members, the council is among the changes to the Town Charter, approved earlier this year in the annual Town Election. This will replace the town’s Board of Selectmen and  Representative Town Meeting. In addition, the election will also decide two seats for the Board of Public Works and Electric Commissioners, which were expanded from three members to five by the charter. As of press time, 17 residents have pulled papers for the election.

Pat Dolan, with the town’s Election Commission, said she expects more to do so in the near future. She hopes for a large turnout for the Town Council race. Among some of those that have thrown their hats into the ring are members of the Board of Selectmen.

“We’re hoping for quite a few of them so people have a choice,” she said.

Information on the Special Election

  • Friday, April 26—the last day to take out nomination papers.
  • Tuesday, April 30—the last day candidates can return nomination papers for certification of signatures.
  • Thursday, May 16—the last day to file a withdrawal or objection to a candidate for Town Office.
  • May 29 –the last day to register to vote in the Special Election. Town offices will be open from 8 a.m.-8 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 18—The North Attleborough Special Election. Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m.

List of candidates in the Special Election

As of press time, the following people have pulled papers for the Special Election


For Town Council

JoAnn Cathcart

John D. Simmons

Adam J. Scanlon

Daniel F. Donovan

Gregory St. Lawrence

Leo R. Bissonnette

Justin Pare

Michael Bedard

Greg Weisharr

Joan Marchitto

Julie Boyce

Benjamin J. Whitney

Keith P. Lapointe

Michael Lennox

Benjamin J. Whitney

Keith P. Lapointe

For the Board of Public Works

Russell M. Kenney

How the Town Council works

According to the charter, available on the town web site, any voter can serve on the council, and terms will last two years. Members will be chosen to serve as president and vice president.

Among the council’s roles will be the appointment of a Town Manager and Town Auditor, as well as confirmation of the appointment of department heads. The council will also establish standing committees, including a finance or ways and means committee, rules committee, and municipal bylaw committee, all appointed by the Council President.

The council may make investigations into the affairs of the town and conduct of any agency. No councilor can—during their term—hold any other town office or position other than a member of an elected Charter Commission or in an ex officio capacity.

Election or appointment to a regional or state office will be allowed, so long as it is not a town office or position. No former councilor can hold any compensated appointive town office or employment until one year after the expiration of the their term.











Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.